We are at New Frontiers!

I can’t believe we are already on the last day at New Frontiers. Yes, we made it to the autism training in Singapore! All thanks to supportive family and friends, and a massive host of people we don’t know personally but either loved Little Star’s story, OR supported the Perez’s family’s fundraising effort. Ian, Nathan, Amor, Chris and Gil Perez really helped us through the final stretch, spreading our story through their social network and making cute videos of their son, Ian, talking about Little Star. ❤ you guys.

And has the New Frontiers been worth it? ABSOLUTELY. We have learnt so much about improving our Son-Rise program at home, with Little Star. I have heard incredibly first-hand stories from parents whose children made incredible strides… for even the most severe autism cases.

I have changed (or know how to change) limiting beliefs about myself that has stopped me from being the dedicated, ultra-focused, and super creative Son-Rise parent that I know I CAN BE. I see parents who run full-time, 30-40 hours a week programs for their kids, and I know it can be done.

I have learnt how to create fun and exciting games, that target Little Star’s specific social development goals, and the most effective way to bring it into the playroom. I am clear about when to build, initiate and when to request when my child is “green lighting” me (seriously I thought I knew before, but now I KNOW even better 🙂 I learnt how to teach these techniques to our volunteers, and how to address their beliefs, so they can be the best and most awesome playmates for Little Star.

I have met so many other Son-Rise parents, and I know we will be good friends for a long time. I heard their stories and hope for their kids and I see my own story in their eyes. Thank you for the gift of empathy and acceptance, and most of all thank you my beautiful daughter, Little Star, who gives me this chance to access and join in this world of compassion, love, joy and giving every day.

And look we got some awesome photos with Kate Wilde and Raun Kaufman!

Leave a Reply

